Conservatives Can Defend Liberty Without Help of ACLU

I just had to share this with you.

From Human Events
by Gary Aldrich:

Some good friends on the Right and many nutcases on the Left are raising issues about our privacy in the wake of reports that the feds are listening in on cell phones and reviewing e-mails in the war on terrorism.

OK, it’s not fair to accuse the ACLU of acting insane. Can I suggest instead that they suffer from selective prosecution? They were clearly AWOL during the Clinton years of Ruby Ridge, Waco, FBI investigations of peaceful militia groups and abortion clinic protestors. They also remained silent when a federal agency SWAT-trooper in full riot gear pointed an automatic military assault rifle at a little boy named Elian Gonzales.

The same type of domestic surveillance took place during the Clinton years, but somehow the ACLU missed it. Our sources in the Defense Intelligence Agency and on Capitol Hill tell us that the Defense Department based D.I.A. gathered information about U.S. persons — American citizens — while they trained their data sweeping machines on sources, trying to develop information about terrorists’ plans.

This happened during the Clinton years of “purity,” apparently admired by the ACLU.

Go read more>>

8 Responses

  1. The same type of domestic surveillance took place during the Clinton years, but somehow the ACLU missed it.

    Yeah … but you can’t blame it on Bill … he was busy studying for his “orals” at the time … can’t say much for his tutor though …

  2. So, I guess the ACLU blew it (too) in those days.

  3. :clap_tb: Damn StinKerr … we’ve got to take turns being the straight man … you keep getting the best laugh lines …

  4. I liked your line and went with it, WS. I’ll try to feed ’em back to you and let you get ahead.

  5. oh, man you guys are good!

  6. Thanks, StinKerr … Actually, I think I’ve got ahead … it comes with hard work and a little play!

    :clap_tb:

  7. Yeah, I worked for a chief who swore he’d make sure that I would “get ahead in the Navy”, then he sent me to clean it … every morning. HE thought he was a pretty funny guy, others had varied opinions.

    [For the uninitiated a Navy head = Army latrine = civilian toilet/bathroom.]

  8. I miss military school, I don’t miss the Air Force at all. Since Clinton, I couldn’t survive in the military! I am more like a Gunny Hightower type. :wink1_tb:

Leave a Reply

