• Opening A Registered Nurse's Eyes Susans Book Cover By Susan Frances Bonner
    Buy the E-Book Now!
  • RSS Uncooperative Radio

    • UncooperativeRadio 11-17-17 November 18, 2017
      We start the show with The Pledge of Allegiance. Then, satanists vs pro-life movement, medical madness, the big list of 149 Trump accomplishments and we will visit the wonderful world of animals.
    • UncooperativRadio 11-11-17 November 12, 2017
      We start the show with a Prayer. Today is Veterans Day we will tell you what that means. Then, The Ups and Downs for the Week. We will tell you about Antifa’s intent for Americans. More Las Vegas shooting news and The Second Amendment Report.
    • UncooperativeRadio 11-10-17 November 11, 2017
      We start the show with The Pledge of Allegiance. We will never forget Benghazi and Seth Rich. Then, The Illegal Alien Report. We will tell you about Republicans that are jumping ship, the Fuzzy Muzzy Report and The Federal Reserve isn’t federal at all.
    • Uncooperative Radio 10-28-17 October 29, 2017
      We start the show with A passage from Ephesians. We will explore The wonderful world of animals. Then, The Ups and Downs for the Week. Followed by, The Red Revolution, The Illegal Alien Invasion Report and the war on Christianity
  • Recent Comments

    india latest news on Marine Capt. Brian R. Chontosh…
    air force on Marine Capt. Brian R. Chontosh…
    radio on Weekend Open Trackback Pa…
    JuliuPact on “Random Vandalism”…
    nacisti on Weekend Open Trackback Pa…
  • Archives

June Vote Set for Ga. Congressional Seat

From The Las Vegas Sun:

Gov. Sonny Perdue on Thursday called for a June 19 special election to fill the House seat left vacant by the death of GOP Rep. Charles Norwood.

The date gives the growing field of candidates almost four months to campaign and allows a pair of state senators seeking the seat to complete the current legislative session.

Three Republicans have said they will run to represent the northeastern Georgia district: State Sens. Ralph Hudgens and Jim Whitehead, and Paul Broun, a doctor whose father was a longtime Democratic state senator. Doc Eldridge, a former Democratic mayor of Athens, has said he may also run as a Republican.

Democrat Terry Holley, who was soundly defeated by Norwood last November, also said he plans to run.

There are no primaries before the special election. If no one receives more than 50 percent of the vote, a runoff between the top two vote-getters would be held July 17.

Norwood, a seven-term congressman, died last week after suffering from lung disease and cancer. He was 65.

This is interesting, I wonder if their state constitution is different than most, where the governor can appoint his replacement. If not I wonder why he decided he will hold a special election, costing tax payers more money, and leaving the seat vacant for more than 4 months?

5 Responses

  1. This is interesting, I wonder if their state constitution is different than most, where the govenor can appoint his replacement. If not I wonder why he decided he will hold a special election, costing tax payers more money, and leaving the seat vacan for more than 4 months?

    Procedures governing vacancies in the Senate were initially established by Article
    I, Section 3 of the Constitution, as later amended by paragraph 2 of the 17th Amendment.
    The latter states:

    When vacancies happen in the representation of any State in the Senate, the executive
    authority of such State shall issue writs of election to fill such vacancies: Provided
    that the legislature of any State may empower the executive thereof to make
    temporary appointments until the people fill the vacancies by election as the
    legislature may direct.

    The Constitution provides for cases in which House seats become vacant in Article
    I, Section 2, clause 4:

    When Vacancies happen in the Representation from any State, the Executive
    Authority thereof shall issue Writs of Election to fill such Vacancies.

    The Constitution thus requires that all House vacancies be filled by special election. There is no constitutional provision for the appointment of interim Representatives.

    Hope this helps.

  2. Thank you for that very imformative comment. My questions have been answered. :clap_tb:

  3. Good catch WS, I forgot we were talking about a house representative.

    I am definitely off my game. hehe

  4. Don’t feel bad, Brian. I’m not rubbing it in and was unsure enough of it myself that I had to rustle up something to refresh my memory. I wonder, though, why both houses of Congress weren’t treated the same in the 17th. Will have to research that one of these days.

    Hope your feeling a good bit better these days.

  5. I am feeling a bit more like myself now. But that is not saying much! LOL!

    I am also trying to research allot for my move to the mountain working out lagistics and getting this new computer up to speed. Stock computers don’t gte it done for me and it turns out this computer had some stuff pre-installed that caused me a day of work to figure out. Sorry, it was messing me up using CDs the way I use them and not the way MS wants me to use them.

    BTW, I never thought you were rubbing it in. when I am wrong and someone points it out, i only get pissed at myself. I actually appreciate the person pointing it out to me. I really hate being wrong…hehe

Leave a Reply

